The Good Funeral Awards reward the unsung heroes of the funeral industry and enable bereaved people to say thank you for being there when we needed you.

If you would like to nominate someone for an award please do so by contacting and telling us why. Please ensure you include their contact details.

We will then contact that person and invite them to enter officially for the award.

If you would like to enter yourself or your company for an award, please download and complete the entry form at the bottom of this page and send it us along with the entry fee if applicable.

Why Enter

Why Enter?

Winners will receive:

  • Recognition of their achievement throughout the funeral industry
  • Publicity, press and media attention
  • A certificate and a bespoke trophy
  • The opportunity to say a few words to the assembled guests
  • A photo opportunity with the celebrity host
  • A logo to be used on your website
  • There is a small entry fee for most categories to cover the time it takes to go through the nominations.

We're starting the process by creating a 'Long List'.

If you are an individual working within funeralworld, you are eligible to enter for any category that you think suitable. (If you can get a client or supplier to sing your praises and nominate you first, that's great, but don't wait too long..!)

Simply download the entry form at the foot of this page, complete it, then send it to



2018 Categories

  • Most promising newcomer to the trade
  • Most helpful funeral advice website
  • Anatomical pathologist technician of the year
  • Care of the deceased award
  • Coffin supplier of the year
  • Funeral florist of the year
  • Minister of the year
  • Celebrant of the year
  • Gravedigger of the year
  • Best burial ground in the UK
  • Best direct cremation provider
  • Best low cost funeral provider
  • Most eco-friendly funeral director
  • Funeral arranger of the year
  • Most promising trainee funeral director
  • Funeral director of the year sponsored by Funeral Service Journal
  • Funeral caterer of the year
  • The ‘what to do with the ashes’ award
  • Lifetime achievement award

GFA 2018 Entry Form

GFA 2018 Entry Form (PDF version)