The Good Funeral Awards

The Longlist – Good Funeral Awards 2015

12 August, 2015

The panel has sifted through hundreds of nominations for this year’s Good Funeral Awards.

The judges have requested that their deliberations remain secret. While they appreciate that many people will be disappointed, they wish to remind everyone that this is an annual event, and each year the method of selection improves. Please do not lose heart, just enter again next year.

If you are a nominee, make sure you’ve got a ticket for the dinner at the University of Winchester on 5 September 2015. We sold out last year, and we do not wish to turn nominees away this year. Accommodation is available at the University of Winchester.


Private Pike (Ian Lavender) from Dad’s Army will be presenting the awards.

If you’re a nominee, why not spend the whole weekend with us at the Ideal Death Show.


To make the most of the nomination, we recommend you send a press release about the Good Funeral Awards to your local newspaper. If you email us we can send you a template which you can adapt.

We can supply you with a certificate of nomination and a digital logo to put on your website for £25 + VAT.  

To order please call 07545 232980 or email The money raised goes towards paying for the very fine Anubis statues for the winners.

We have longlisted the following:


Funeral Director of the Year


Steve Jefferies – F A Holland & Son 

John McGillivray – Funeral Directors in Edinburgh 

Graham and his team – Wessex Funeral Services

A.R.Adams Funeral Directors 

Lucy Jane – The Individual Funeral Company

Derek Crawford – Hunter’s Funeral Directors

Les Davies Funeral Directors

Rebecca Diamond – A.W.Lymn

Bungard and Sons in Hove 

Wallace Stuart 

Alan Scollen – Scollen & Wright Funeral Services 

Aaron Bewley – Bewley and Merrett 


Embalmer of the Year


Matthew Newton of M-balm 

Julie Smith – Stibbards and Sons Leigh-on-Sea 


Most Promising New Funeral Director of the Year sponsored by the Church of England


Judith Dandy – Dandelion Farewells

Anna Wardle – Bewley & Merrett

Colin Fisher – Colin Fisher Funeral Directors

Carrie Weekes and Frances Glover – A Natural Undertaking

Michelle Balam – Roseberry Funeral Service, Redcar

Tiffaney Grant – Leverton & Sons Ltd


Funeral Arranger of the Year


Janet Ward – Francis Chappell & Sons

Emma Fisher – Colin Fisher Funeral Directors

Sarah Wolsey – Daniel Ross Funerals

Celia de Silva – Francis Chapell & Sons

Angela Bailey – Harrison Funeral Home


Celebrant of the Year


Emma Curtis

Rev Juliet Stephenson

Jane Morgan

Pauline Hyde Coomber

Beverley Levy-Price

Ellie Farrell

Judy Mansfield

Derren Gallo

Scott Solway


Lifetime Achievement Award


Felicity Warner – Soul Midwives

Ken West

Nigel Lymn Rose – A.W.Lymn

Mark Green – Co-founder the Bereavement Services Association

Josephine Speyer – Natural Death Centre

Charles Cowling – Good Funeral Guide


Major Contribution to the Understanding of Death


Angie McLachlan for her work with Ichabod

Carla Valentine – St Bart’s Pathology Museum

Felicity Warner – Soul Midwives

Hermione Elliott – Living Well Dying Well

Claire Turnham – Only with Love

Professor Tony Walter – Centre of Death and Society, University of Bath


Best Alternative Hearse sponsored by Motorcycle Funerals


Levertons Funeral Directors Eco Hearse

Morris Minor Hearse 

David Hall Vintage Lorry Funerals


Cemetery of the Year


Epsom Cemetery

Portchester Memorial Gardens

Horncastle Cemetery

Clandon Wood

Respect, Green Burial site at Laughton in Lincolnshire

Westmill Burial Ground, Swindon


Florist of the Year


Rebecca Sharp – Dazzle Me Daisy Do/Rainbows at Sunset 

Miss Mole’s Flower Emporium

Cream & Browns Florist

Stems UK

Helen Pyle, resident florist at Memorial Woodland, Bristol


Association of Green Funeral Directors Green Funeral Director of the Year


Carrie Weekes and Fran Glover at A Natural Undertaking

Maggie and Tony Brinklow at Margaret Rose Funerals

Tracy O’Leary at Woodland Wishes

Jonathan Mees and Ian Hope at Oak Funeral Services


Crematorium Attendant


Andy Hands – Bramcote Crematorium, Nottingham

Charles Howlett – Superintendent at Chilterns Crematorium, Amersham


Gravedigger of the Year


Ivor Davies – Gwaelody y Brithdir, Caerphilly County Borough Council

Stuart Goodacre – Horncastle Cemetery

Andy Slade – Fairspear and Westmill


Coffin Supplier of the Year


Cradle to Grave

Feet First

Honest Coffins


Best Bereavement Resource 

Down to Earth

The Loss Foundation

Natural Death Centre

To Absent Friends


Mortuary Assistant (APT) Team or Individual sponsored by Respect Everybody Shrouds


Mrs Sarah Davis – Lead APT/Mortuary Manager at the Birmingham Women’s Hospital

Michelle Lancaster, North Tees & Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust

Mortuary Team at University Hospital of Coventry and Warwickshire

Kristoffer Hughes – Her Majesty’s Coroner

The Mortuary Team at the Princess Royal Hospital, Orpington.

Barbara Peters – Mortuary Services, University College London Hospital

Mortuary Team The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Mortuary (APT) Team Rob Charlsworth & Les Fern – DRI Doncaster, Doncaster and Bassetlaw NHS Trust